Skip to main content

Mentally Healthy: Students

Resources to support Mentally Healthy Week.

 

Interactive Websites

 

the moodgym image

MoodGYM is an innovative, interactive web program designed to prevent depression. It consists of five modules, an interactive game, anxiety and depression assessments, downloadable relaxation audio, a workbook and feedback assessment. Using flashed diagrams and online exercises, MoodGYM teaches the principles of cognitive behaviour therapy – a proven treatment for depression. It also demonstrates the relationship between thoughts and emotions, and works through dealing with stress and relationship break-ups, as well as teaching relaxation and meditation techniques.

The Desk

The Desk aims to support Australian tertiary students to achieve mental and physical health and wellbeing. Being a student can be a challenging time and many students do not access support services for a range of reasons including time pressures, not knowing where to go for help and feeling embarrassed. Providing resources online means that more people will be able to get help to improve their wellbeing and be able to study more effectively. The desk offers free access to online modules, tools, quizzes and advice.

 

eCouch - image  

E-couch is a self-help interactive program with modules for depression, generalised anxiety & worry, social anxiety, relationship breakdown, and loss & grief. It provides evidence-based information and teaches strategies drawn from cognitive, behavioural and interpersonal therapies as well as relaxation and physical activity.

Smiling Mind

Smiling Mind is modern meditation for young people. It is a unique web and App-based program, designed to help bring balance to young lives. It is a not-for-profit initiative based on a process that provides a sense of clarity, calm and contentment. Download from the website.

Tune in not out (TINO)

tune in not out URL

Tune in not out (TINO): 24 Hour TV for life’s challenges. Safe partying, managing relationships, communication eating disorders, self-esteem etc.

Children of Parents with a Mental Illness (COPMI) 

If your parent experiences mental illness, it's normal for you to have all kinds of different feelings. It might be hard to know how to cope with your parent or understand why they act the way they do. This can leave you feeling angry, stressed and helpless...and a whole lot of other things! In this section of the COPMI website, you can find out about mental illness and how to get help if you need it. Sometimes it helps just to know that you’re not alone and there are others in similar situations.

Reachout

ReachOut.com is Australia’s leading online youth mental health service. It’s the perfect place to start if you’re not sure where to look. Every year it helps hundreds of thousands of young Australians with information support and stories on everything from finding your motivation, through to getting through really tough times.

With a mobile-friendly site and forums, you can access help, info and support no matter where you are. Everything on ReachOut.com is created with experts and young people, so you can be sure to find stuff that’s not only evidence-based, but is also relevant to you. It’s got tools and tips to make everyday life just a little easier, and if you can’t get the help you need on ReachOut.com, we have links to a number of other great services that exist for young people in Australia.

MindMatters

MindMatters is a mental health initiative for secondary schools that aims to improve the mental health and wellbeing of young people.

 

Young people becoming independent

Young people becoming independent

We provide information, payments and services if you are between 15 and 24 years of age and becoming independent. Payments such as Youth Allowance and ABSTUDY support you while you study. We can also help you with career and financial advice for when it's time for you to make important decisions. Payments & services:

  • ABSTUDY
  • Australian Apprenticeships Access Program
  • Australian Organ Donor Register 
  • Financial Information Service Seminars
  • Helping Young Parents
  • Medicare Card
  • Medicare Teen Dental Plan
  • Rent Assistance
  • Youth Allowance 
  • Youth Connections 
  • Youth Disability Supplement

 

Legal Advice

Youth Legal Services

Youth Legal Service provides free professional legal services to children and young people (under 25 years) residing in Western Australia.

Ph: 9202 1688 (Metro)  / 1800 199 006 (Regional)

 

eSafety

eSafety

Cyberbullying is never ok, and has a negative impact on the mental and emotional health of those that are targeted. eSafety is a safe platform for you to report cyberbullying and talk to someone about it. They also provide advice and strategies for dealing with these issues.

"The Office of the Children’s eSafety Commissioner is Australia's leader in online safety. The Office is committed to helping young people have safe, positive experiences online and encouraging behavioural change, where a generation of Australian children act responsibly online—just as they would offline".

 

Report Online Concerns

Students can use this link to report offensive or illegal content online.

 

iParent (contains eSafety information for parents)

iParent is "where parents can learn about the digital environment and keep updated on their children’s technology use".

 

 

YouTube clip:

What the Internet is doing to our brains

 

Recreational Outlets / Social Groups

Being a part of social groups or volunteer programs is proven to have a positive effect on mental health. It is a great opportunity to get out there, make friends and de-stress. Plus you'll end up doing all sorts of things you would never have done on your own! Here are a few places to get started if you want to try meeting new people and doing something different:

Cambridge Youth Service

ScoutsWA

InclusionWA

identify as LGBT? Check out Freedom Centre

 

Supporting Families of Children with Special Needs

Kalparrin

Kalparrin is a non-for-profit organisation that helps families of children with disabilities and special needs to carry their load by providing practical information and support. They also assist in connecting families in similar situations together through Parent Link, and other respite activities.

Phone: (08) 9340 8094 / 1800 066 413

 

Helplines

Crisis Care Helpline (24hrs) - 9223 1111

Mental Health Emergency Response Line - 1300 555 788

Kids Help Line - 1800 551 800

Family Helpline - 9223 1100

Lifeline (24hr) - 131 114

The Line (24hr) 1800 695 463

Youth Beyond blue - 1300 224 636

Q Life (3pm – midnight EST) - 1800 184 527

Family Drug Support (24hr) - 1300 368 186

The Samaritans Anonymous Crisis Support (24hr) - 135 247

Men’s Line Australia - 1300 789 978

Men’s Domestic Violence Helpline - (08) 9223 1199 / 1800 000 599

Women’s Domestic Violence Helpline - (08) 9223 1188 / 1800 007 339

National Sexual Assault, Domestic Family Violence Counselling Service

               1800 RESPECT - 1800 737 732  https://www.1800respect.org.au/

 

Online Counselling and Support

Headspace - www.headspace.org.au  

Youth Focus - www.youthfocus.com.au

Reach Out - http://au.reachout.com

Lifeline - http://www.lifelinewa.org.au/

 

Counselling Support

 

eheadspace - image

 

Headspace: A one-stop-shop providing mental and health wellbeing support, information and services to young people aged 12-25 yrs old and their families. Office locations: Albany, Armadale, Broome, Bunbury, Fremantle, Geraldton, Joondalup, Kalgoorlie, Midland, Osborne Park, Rockingham.

Ph: 9335 6333

YouthFocus 

Youth counsellors work exclusively with the young person or where appropriate in partnership with their family and a Youth Focus Family Counsellor. Youth Focus provides a friendly, confidential and professional service for young people who are in need of counselling and support.

Our Counsellors are trained professionals with the skills necessary to assist young people in identifying coping strategies to deal with issues associated with suicide, depression and self-harm. Youth counselling appointments are free of charge and available at our office. We offer our services from our offices located in Burswood, Joondalup, Rockingham, Bunbury and Albany as well as via our schools and outreach programs.

Centrecare 

Centrecare is one of Western Australia's most well established, professional and innovative providers of specialist social services. Centrecare offers extensive outreach and specialised counselling services both in the metropolitan and regional areas of Western Australia and currently provides approximately 90 services delivered from 11 locations. With a not-for-profit status, Centrecare provides quality professional family and relationship counselling, individual counselling, specialised men and women counselling, children counselling, family dispute resolution and training services. 

Ph: 9325 6644

Systemic Consultation Centre - Counselling

Counselling for families, couples and individuals using a systemic approach - is this for me? Low fee counselling services for families, couples and individuals…

T.S. Eliot in “ The Cocktail Hour” (1940). His definition! - “Before I treat a patient like yourself I need to know a great deal more about him than the patient can always tell me. Indeed, it is often the case that my patients are only pieces of a total situation, which I have to explore. The single patient who is ill by himself, is rather the exception.”

HelpingMinds

HelpingMinds provides a range of free, professional and confidential counselling and support programs to individuals who have a friend or family member that is affected by mental illness or are at risk of developing a mental illness themselves. They offer a range of services catered towards children and youth aged 0-18, adults, and families.

Phone: (08) 9427 7100 (Metro) / 1800 811 747 (Regional)

 

Health

 

Dr Yes online

Online site that provides youth with a list of doctors who work well with youth in WA. Also has links to alcohol and drug information, sexual health and other general enquiry questions.

 

Sexual Health Quarters

sexual health quarters URL

Sexual health clinic and counselling services. Provides information, education and training for teachers and other educators in Western Australia. 

SHQ offers free, confidential counselling for young people under 25. 

Ph: (08) 9227 6177

 

Sexual Assault Resource Centre (SARC)

24hr emergency line for recent sexual assault

Ph: (08) 6458 1828 / 1800 199 888

Emergency telephone counselling between 8.30am and 11.00pm

Ph: (08) 6458 1828

13yrs and over, provides medical care, a forensic examination and counselling support to people who have been sexually assaulted within the previous 14 days, has various counselling services across Perth metro, Aboriginal Liaison Officer available.

 

Tips for Maintaining Positive Mental Health

If you're not feeling so positive, there are things you can do to make it easier to smile. Here are some quick tips that have been proven to help reduce depression and build a better outlook:

 

  • Reach out! Let friends and loved ones know how you're feeling - they want to be there for you. If you can't do this, talking to a psychologist or counsellor can make a huge difference in sorting through your feelings.
  • Relax! Schedule blocks of time to do the things that make you happy, whether that's meditating, reading, listening to music, playing games or spending time with friends.
  • Get pumped! It's been found that the more exercise you're doing, the more defense you have against depression and anxiety. Exercise can feel exhausting just to think about, but even going for a walk every day while you listen to music is helpful!
  • Organise yourself! Being organised means you know what's coming up, which means less time spent rushing around or figuring it out as you go. Spending 10 minutes organising your week every Sunday means less stress, getting more done and feeling happier! Get those unused school diaries out and organise!
  • Eat well! That doesn't mean a maccas run at 9pm every now and then is out of the question - balance is what we're looking for. Your body is a machine, and how well it works depends on the fuel we put into it. Our brain is connected to this machine, so the brain's ability to cope relies on this fuel as well! You don't have to be a tofu-eating yoghurt-and-quinoa fancier to eat well. Just make sure you get some meat, fruit and veg into your day, and force yourself to have a glass of water every now and then. Learning to make simple healthy meals will help you get into this habit. Who knows, once you see the massive effect it has on how you feel, you might want to do it more.
  • Sleep well! Sleep is your brain's chance to recharge and sort through everything that happened throughout the day. Think of it as your brain taking information and filing it away - if you don't get enough sleep or it's not good quality, your brain is running on less energy the following day, and some thoughts and feelings will stick around. If you want better sleep, try the following:
    • try to get up at roughly the same time each morning. Your body works on patterns - if it learns to get up at the same time each day, it'll begin preparing to wake up even before the alarm goes off.
    • write in a diary before bed. If you tend to over-think at night, writing some thoughts down and exploring them before you sleep can help. It doesn't have to be a "dear Diary, today I was sad" kind of thing. Just write your thoughts down the same way you think them. 
    • Avoid coffee, energy drinks and alcohol after 4pm. Sometimes you might pull all-nighters or stay up late with friends and that's okay. But when you're at home and you have an early start the next day, try to avoid these drinks - they'll make it much harder to get that quality rest you need.